CALL +91- 95556 66667

The Five Brilliant Days of Diwali, The Festival of Lights

The Five Brilliant Days of Diwali, The Festival of Lights

Diwali, also known as Depawali, is the holiest and most popular among all Indian festivals. It envelops and embraces one and all, irrespective of their varied cultures, religion and secular demarcations. Diwali offers something or the other to every age group be it the scintillating card parties for the youth, the burning of fireworks and crackers which is the main attracting for the children, the making of colorful and vibrant rangoli for the creative young girls or the long sessions of puja paraphernalia for the senior age group. This is one festival which stretches almost for a week.

Here is a detailed description and analysis of the 5 major days of puja during the festival of Deepawali.

1st Day- Dhanteras or Dhanwantary Trayodas
2nd Day- Kali Chaudas or Narak Chaturdasi, also known as Choti Diwali
3rd Day- Deepawali or simply Diwali, Lakshmi Pooja
4th Day- Govardhan Pooja or Vishwakarma Day, also known as Annakut
5th Day- Bhai Doooj or Bhai Beej or Bhai Teeka, known as Bhai Phota in Bengali

The festival of Diwali symbolizes splendor, joy, happiness and brightness. It is also called the festival of lights and is celebrated by Hindus all across the globe with great enthusiasm, pomp and grandeur. It marks the return of Lord Rama to Ayodhya after spending fourteen years in exile and having killed the demon king Ravana to free his consort Sita from his evil clutches, whom the former had abducted treacherously. It is believed that on the day of Diwali Lord Rama stepped into Ayodhya, his father’s kingdom, and the people of the city lighted diyas and burnt crackers wore new clothes and welcomed their new to-be-king with great respect, joy and enthusiasm. 

Talking about the present year 2016, the dates for the five pious days of the festival of Diwali are as follows:

Day 1: Dhanteras / Dhantheran / Dhantrayodashi / Dhanwantari Triodasi / Yamadeepdaan / Dhan Teyras- 28TH October,2016
Day 2: Choti Diwali / Kali Chaudas / Narak Chaturdashi- 29th October, 2016
Day 3: Diwali / Baddi Diwali / Lakshmi Puja- 30th October, 2016
Day 4: Pratipat / Padwa Puja / Gudi Padwa / Govardhan Puja / Annakoot-31st October, 2016
Day 5: Bhai Duj / Bhhaya Dooj / Bhai Beej / Dvitiya- 1st November, 2016

All the five days of Diwali are extremely auspicious and should be spent with dedication, worship, faith and happiness. Each day has its own significance and puja paraphernalia which should be followed according to customs and rituals. Only then with the Gods and Goddesses shower you and your family with luck, good wishes, blessings and happiness for a bright, successful and happy future.

Dr. Puneet Chawla is a Life Guru, guiding and mentoring the followers to solve their life problems and make a easy living. He corrects the reasons of troublesome life by way of Vastu, Mantra and Tantra Mandalas. Being an intuitive personality he senses the negative energies, the reasons of problems and rarely predicts the life decisions too. He is a Shiv and Shakti Sadhak and guides people through Shivpath.